I’m back.

August 25, 2010

For the past few months I’ve been messing around with Adobe Illustrator. I’ve learned the basics of it, and am using it to design things that I think would look cool, such as a few t-shirts I’ve done.

The idea of this project is for me to show off my favourite fonts and the people who remind me of them. The font OCR Std A reminds me of Kraftwerk. If you knew their music you’d understand.

I’ve become completely engrossed by fonts and typography. Fonts are like people, in the way that they have families, share common characteristics, and also in the way that they don’t share common characteristics.

Here I was measuring the exact differences between Alte Haas Grotesk and its grandchild, Helvetica.

Alte Haas Grotesk and Helvetica pangrams.

It’s hård to see the difference at this level of zoom, but watch what happens when we zoom in at 1200%.

Alte Haas Grotesk and Helvetica lowercase r.

If you can blur your eyes, do it. You’ll see very little difference between them, but at 1200% zoom, we can see the beautiful and perfect intricacies that made me fall in love with Alte Haas Grotesk. Look at the little imperfections on it… the little lump at the base of the arm… the curve of the parts of the letters where they connect to the main stroke of a character… It’s so rugged and unpolished and organic. I love it.

So yeah, that’s what I’m up to these days. I’ve also started a company with Aileen named Light and Space photography. I’m the Chief Executive Officer, and she is the Chief Operating Officer. Basically, the company is an extension of my own vision, and I apply my vision, while she tells me what I need to do to have this vision realized to its fullest.

So far, we’re off to a great start. I’ll link to the website once it’s decently completed.

One Response to “I’m back.”

  1. Ally said

    I lawled at “hård” man. Great poast.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

