A few more words before I start, and how this came to be

January 13, 2010

I’ve created this blog to detail my thoughts on communication. I don’t mean just language, but design communication, including how a product tells us what its use is, how a font can (or can’t) tell a story. At the same time. I will try my best (within WordPress’ stupid limitations) to make this site as minimalist as possible, while striving to make it an extension of my own mind.

Imagine that… the word minimalist in the same sentence that describes my mind.

This was inspired by watching two films: Helvetica and Objectified. I’ve always been interested in design, but watching these two movies really got me thinking.

Then it happened.

I was teaching one day, and I glanced over at my student’s pencil case. There it was. The most perfect mechanical pencil I’ve ever seen. It had a nice-sized barrel; not too thick, not too thin. Brushed aluminum. One button at the top. A polished aluminum clip. The angle that the barrel moved down towards the tip was almost angelic.

For the next few days, I was haunted by this mechanical pencil. I even offered him $10 for it. It was in my dreams, and I noticed myself thinking about it more and more as the days went by.

I thought to myself “This is either a really weird infatuation I’ve got with this pen, or it’s an epiphany.” I’ve decided to see if this is an epiphany or not, and start this blog to detail my thoughts on design communication, if that’s what it’s called.

I’ve never been trained in design in any way. I’m a graduate of the psychology program at my local university. But one thing I’ve always loved is simplicity in design.

Leave a Reply

